Back in the U.S.

I have been back “home” now for two days, and it has been a strange experience to say the least. As I was running errands today, the spatial context of where I was and the huge difference it is with Europe really hit me. I’m happy to be back here, but only because I want to finish school as soon as I can, without any other mistakes. The concept of home is a funny one. Here, I don’t live with my parents, except for a week here and there, and I’m only home with my aunt during breaks. I’ve been living in different places so often, that I really don’t feel any attachment to one certain place, house, city, or anything of the kind. I am certainly attached for my family, I love them dearly, but not to this country. When I returned to Holland, it felt like home for me, I was comfortable there, I knew how to get around, and there were people familiar to me. What I know now for sure is people make all the difference, not any particular building or set of buildings. I’m not ready to stay in just one place, and I am looking forward to moving on from here again, traveling a bit more, and meeting other people from cultures different from my own.

I already can’t wait for my next holiday…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

